Recipe

Dear knitting friends who do not now the Lithuanian language, I’ve made this post in English for you :)

Some of you asked me to make a pattern for the linen hats that I’ve been knitting this summer. I would be happy to share free patters of everything that comes to my head, only if I were able to make those patterns. The problem is that I’m a very intuitive knitter, I never plan or calculate, I just cast on and see what I get. My head installation allows me to improvise while knitting but makes me a terrible pattern maker.

This will not be a pattern either. It will only be a rough recipe, that’s all I can do now. Hopefully, some day I will become a better pattern maker :)))

For those linen hats I used Lithuanian 4ply linen, and held the yarn double (so it’s king of 8ply in a hat). (more about the yarn at the end of the post)

I usually CO 112-120 stitches, depending on the head size. For a small to medium size head (like mine – 54 cm or 21,5′) 112 stitches are enough (I use size 2 or 2.25 needles for the edge and size 2.75 or 3 needles for the remaining of the hat). I knit the edge: usually K1, P1, or K2, P2, you may choose your favourite edge. After the edge is finished (I like the edge to be at least 4 cm from the CO), I make increases by inserting an extra stitch every 4th stitch, this will end in a more beanie like hat. If you want a slouchier hat you may insert more extra stitches, like K3, M1 all around the row, or repeating (K1, M1, K1, M1, K1) all around the row. Anything works :)
After the increase row I usually decide the embellishment, I mean the Noro pattern. I have many Noro leftovers and I’m in love with this gorgeous yarn so I always use Noro, but you may choose any other yarn that is colourful or of nice or special texture, again works anything that you like.

(Even one or two rows of Noro make miracles) :)

So after the increase row I just knit without increasing or decreasing until the hat is some 15-16 cm from the CO (about 40 rows from the increase row – but in case of a slouchy hat I usually knit up to 20 cm), and then I start decreasing.  I usually calculate the stitches and try to divide the number by 7. If it does not work, then I try to divide it by 8 or even 9. If I still can’t get an even number I cheat and add a stitch or two, or knit two stitches together several times. Then I place 7, 8 or 9 markers, depending on each the total number of stitches. The number of stitches between the markers should be even. (those who are good with numbers may make calculations before starting the hat) :)

To decrease I usually do every second row as follows: *k1, k2tog (/), knit until 3 stitches before the marker, ssk (\), k1*, move the marker and repeat what is between *. 

Decrease every second row until you have 20-30 stitches on your needles . I think at that point you will be using double pointed needles. (for slouchier hats I usually decrease until there are 1 or 3 stitches been the markers) Then you can attach a contrasting yarn, or you may be using the same yarn, it’s up to you. If you use the same colour yarn, start purling and while purling remove the markers except the one that marks the beginning of the row. If you use a contrasting yarn, then knit the first row around and remove all the markers except the one that marks the beginning of the row. 

(For three or four last hats I was decreasing on each row, you can see a difference in the photos. On top they have king of ruffles.)

I purl or knit garter stitch till the end. If you purl, the circle might look  softer, and if you knit garter stitch the circle will get more definition and look like a button (if it’s not too large). On every second row I make decreases by purling (or knitting if garter) stitches together. I usually *p2tog, p1* on the second row, then p2tog all over the row on the 4th and 6th rows. The number of rows depends on the number  of stitches, just improvise :) I end up by pulling the yarn through the remaining 4 or 5 stitches, then leave the hat to soak for at least half and hour, and then block it on the plate.

About the yarn. For a hat I need 50-70 grams of the linen yarn (to be held double), and some leftovers, I’m not sure about the amount of leftovers, but I guess, it’s up to 10  grams or so.

I’m not sure, but I think that if you want the same linen yarn I use, you can write in English to the shop owner and buy the yarn online, the shop has millions of colours of the Lithuanian linen yarn :)

IMG_0667m IMG_0668

IMG_0667m

IMG_0669m

I hope this very rough recipe will be helpful. If you still have any questions, ask me in Ravelry or in comments here.

Happy knitting!!! :)

4 Comments

Filed under Kaip pasidaryti, Siūlai, Sumeistravau

4 responses to “Recipe

  1. thanks a lot, I have such linen, I’ll try to knit them )).

  2. upsa

    nezmoniskai grazi kepure… hehe…ir beveik pagal taisykles- zhalia su sviesiai zhalia:))))

Leave a Reply

